RinalynFayeVillanueva

We all have stories to tell. These are mine – the twisted words of life.

Don’t wake me up.

leave a comment »

I’m on a faraway land, a place near the sea, living on a house of glass – All alone, by myself. As I feel the heat of the sun touches my skin, I woke up. “Why wake me up?” A question I ask every morning for the past week. I watch the sea from my room, it’s fascinating but I can’t find the urge for me to smile. I dig my toes into the sand, finding my way to my favorite spot – the lighthouse. It Is painted by white and rusty stairs. You’ll then know, it’s been there for decades. As I reached the top, I see clear blue sky with birds flying freely, serene and calm sea and green trees on the other side. The view here is fantastic. I’ve been seeing the same place but I never get tired of it. The wind brushes my hair and the long skirt I’m wearing is swaying, dancing to the winds beat. This place is so important to me. It has been my witness for everything. Tears fell from my eyes. Thoughts of you still remain. Your face, your scent, your touch, the way you held my hand and the way we play with the sand and the waves. Then I hear laughter; Children laughing while playing down below where I am. I changed my sight and there I saw the town’s mini carnival. We played hide and seek there. Remember? Flashbacks of the past visited my mind. Our Ferris wheel ride then fireworks came right on time when we’re on top. That moment caught me off guard. We kissed, told you I love you and you hugged me so tight. We walked on our way home. Under the sheets, we made love. My head on your chest and a kiss on my forehead ended our night. I woke up the next day with your letter on our bed side table; bidding goodbye. I tried to find you but you’re gone. I never thought it’ll be our last. We’re supposed to do this together. We’re supposed to witness every sunrise and sunset together. We’re supposed to be forever. Right? What happened? Why did you left? Where are you? Someone called out my name that woke me up from thinking. The boy wants to play. I wipe my tears and looked the other way. The sun is about to set. I never thought I’ve been here for so long. I made my way back home. Lay my back on the sand as the sea touches my feet. It’s cold and warm at the same time. I sat on the sand and played with it. The sunset is making things melodramatic. I hugged my knees keeping myself from crying again. I ran to go home and I was astonished by what I saw. I saw you sitting at the dining table patiently waiting for me. In excitement, I hugged you so tight and kissed you many times. I’m supposed to be mad at you. I should have slapped you really hard, but I didn’t. We talked, told me your apologies and made a promise it won’t happen again. I believed it and accepted it; with open arms I welcome you back.

I woke up from my alarm, a hint that I need to jump off my bed and prepare myself for another day. I don’t want to wake up from that dream. I want to stay in that dream forever.

Written by RinalynFaye

February 12, 2013 at 6:16 am

Leave a Reply

