RinalynFayeVillanueva

We all have stories to tell. These are mine – the twisted words of life.

Christmas realizations.

leave a comment »

Is it too late for me to post this? I just hope I’m not. So here it goes. Last Christmas was the second time we celebrated it without our father. Last Christmas was the first time we celebrated it without my brother which by the way is in Cebu for his postulancy. And it was the first time, me and our youngest celebrated it without our mom with us.

My mom is the eldest in her family. And it’s her role to guide his brothers and sisters whose path didn’t go well. And sadly, it happened on Christmas Eve.

We waited patiently because she told us she’ll be back to spend Christmas with us which didn’t happened. I was broken. We’re only 3 in the family, how come it will be this hard to get ourselves together? Why did she chose to be with her siblings just to settle whatever that happened? Didn’t she even learned? They turn their backs on her. They don’t even listen to her. But there she was, helping them in those kind of times.

I can’t keep up with her siblings. I’m not trying to compete for attention but I can’t help but wonder, are they that important?

You know what I learned? Try to observe. Maybe they just need my mom in that very moment. Resolving bigger issues than spending Christmas with us is even better and maybe for the best of each and everyone of us. Right then and there, family isn’t just there during happy times but even the downfall of one. You can always count on them. And that made me proud having her as my mom.

Inay (Mom), sorry for acting cold that day and the day after. Sorry for the harsh words you heard. I’m just hurt. But I understand now. I love you and I am so proud of you. 

Written by RinalynFaye

January 23, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Leave a Reply

